Death Guard vs World Eaters (1,000 points) – Battle Report

List Theory

The list that I’ve played for my last few games was tweaked again to fit into 1,000 points (I promise that more Plague Marines are coming, but they’re still not ready yet).

I planned to use my Cultists to run into the midfield early and to grab objectives or act as screening for the rest of my army. The rest of my army would hustle forward as a blob and try to bully their way through the enemy army at a time of my choosing.

The Game

This was a very short and brutal game. I feared that the World Eaters would race towards me and wipe me out with brutal melee attacks. Therefore my Cutltists and Nurglings were deployed forward, with scout moves and infiltration, to act as a screen. The rest of my army were deployed in a blob a short distance behind. I expected to lose my screen in turn one and then have a chance to hurt them before the red wave crashed against what I had left. That’s not how things turned out.

While I had blobbed my army together my opponent spread his out across their deployment zone so as to try and grab objectives. What this meant was that the only first turn charge that I faced was from the Daemon Engine, and some cultists survived that. I had enough force in place to delete the Daemon engine and hurt the unit of Chaos Marines that were poised to charge me next round.

In round two another wave of the enemy arrived, and they managed to wipe out the forward Cultists. But this just meant that there were well placed for the rest of my army to then open first on them before wiping them out in melee combat.

The enemy still had a wave or two left, but one of those were their Terminators who were over the other side of the table. They were never going to reach me without getting wiped out on the hike in. Meanwhile I would be scoring well each turn and building up my lead. The game was called, victory to the Death Guard.

Battle RoundWorld EatersDeath Guard
10pts2pts
215pts10pts
Total15pts12pts.

Post Game Thoughts

  • This felt like an inversion of game against the Astra Militarum.
    • My opponent presented his army to me piece by piece.
    • Meanwhile I could use pretty much my entire Death Guard force against each enemy wave as it came forward.
    • It was my opponent’s turn to say “ouch”.
  • The Plagueburst Crawlers did really solid work against the enemy infantry units, the mortars were a big help in this game.

The List

Army Roster (Chaos – Death Guard) [1,000pts]

Configuration

  • Battle Size: 1. Incursion (1000 Point limit)
  • Detachment Choice: Plague Company

Epic Hero [325pts]

  • Mortarion [325pts]: Rotwind, Silence, The Lantern, Warlord

Character [105pts]

Lord of Virulence [105pts]: Heavy plague fist, Shamblerot [25pts], Twin plague spewer

Infantry [170pts]

  • Death Guard Cultists [50pts]
    • 6x Cultist: 6x Brutal assault weapon, 6x Cultist firearm
    • Cultist Champion: Brutal assault weapon, Cultist firearm
    • Cultist w/ flamer: Brutal assault weapon, Flamer
    • Cultist w/ grenade launcher: Brutal assault weapon, Grenade launcher
    • Cultist w/ heavy stubber: Brutal assault weapon, Heavy stubber
  • Deathshroud Terminators [120pts]
    • 2x Deathshroud Terminator: 2x Manreaper, 2x Plaguespurt gauntlet
    • Deathshroud Terminator Champion: Manreaper, Plaguespurt gauntlet

Vehicle [360pts]

  • Plagueburst Crawler [180pts]: Armoured tracks, Heavy slugger, Plagueburst mortar
    2 entropy cannons: 2x Entropy cannon
  • Plagueburst Crawler [180pts]: Armoured tracks, Heavy slugger, Plagueburst mortar
    2 entropy cannons: 2x Entropy cannon

Allied Units [40pts]

  • Nurglings [40pts]
    • 3x Nurgling Swarm: 3x Diseased claws and teeth

Leave a comment